The Invictus Games is a series of sports tournaments for members of the military, veterans, and civilians. Its first edition was held in 2018 as part of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations. It is an international sporting event for injured service personnel and their families.
The Invictus Games are named after the Latin phrase meaning “unconquered spirit”. The games were created by Prince Harry after he met veterans during his deployment to Afghanistan in 2010. He wanted to create a platform where injured servicemen can come together and compete against each other in different sports.
Invictus itself means “unconquered” or “untamed”. The first Invictus Games took place in London in 2014, with similar games taking place every two years thereafter. The next games will be held in Canada from 27 to 30 September 2019, marking their fifth anniversary. Here’s everything you need to know about the Invictus Games…

What is the Invictus Games? – A sports event for injured servicemen

The Invictus Games were created by Prince Harry with the goal of bringing injured servicemen together for an international sporting event in order to improve their mental and physical health. The games are held every two years, one to celebrate the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and another to commemorate Operation Enduring Freedom. The games feature a variety of sports, including archery, cycling, equestrian, rowing, sailing, shooting and wheelchair basketball.
In its first edition in 2018, athletes from 16 countries competed in a total of 14 different events. There was also a cultural exchange component that showcased various military traditions from around the world. Every participating athlete received a medal which honours both them and their country.

Who runs the Invictus Games?

Prince Harry is the patron of the Invictus Games Foundation, which organizes the sporting competition.
The games are organized by Prince Harry, who founded the Invictus Games Foundation in 2014. The games have been hosted every two years since then, with Prince Harry acting as patron of the foundation.
He was inspired to create such a competition after seeing injured servicemen playing wheelchair basketball during his deployment to Afghanistan in 2010. In 2013, he launched the Invictus Games Foundation with David Weir and Christina McQuillan. The first games took place at Disney Land in Orlando in 2014 and was attended by over 500 participants from 18 countries.

Why does Prince Harry run the Invictus Games?

In 2010, Prince Harry was deployed to Afghanistan and met a group of injured servicemen who had been turned away from the military’s rehabilitation centres. They told him their stories and shared their frustration when they found it difficult to get back into active duty.
Prince Harry wanted to create an event in which they could compete against each other in different sports. This would help them enjoy their time as a spectator and give them a new perspective on life after being injured in the military. The first Invictus Games took place in 2014, with similar games taking place every two years thereafter.

What are the sports that will be featured in the Invictus Games?

The Invictus Games will feature a range of sports, including shooting, archery, swimming, cycling and wheelchair rugby.
Each event will have nine different divisions, from the Outdoors to Wheelchair Rugby, which will allow competitors to compete against those in their same sport.
Participants will compete in the following divisions:
– Archery
– Cycling
– Gymnastics – Handball
– Judo
– Shooting (Paralympic and Standard)
– Swimming (Open Water & Aquatics) – Table Tennis
– Wheelchair Rugby

Who can participate in the Invictus Games?

The Invictus Games are open to competitors who are either injured military personnel or veterans. In order to compete, competitors must have served in the armed forces of a country participating in the games and have been injured while serving. They also need to be medically verified as disabled enough for them to engage in sport at an elite level.

How do you become an athlete in the Invictus Games?

There are several ways to become an athlete in the Invictus Games. If you have a physical disability, you can be eligible for selection by making your application to the Invictus Game’s website. If you have a mental or emotional injury, you can apply for entry via the games’ website as well. There are also competitions for civilians at various levels of competition.
If you want to take part in team sports, the qualifications requirements vary depending on the sport involved. You must be able to complete at least three events within 24 hours and be able to complete all four events without needing any assistance from another person. If you don’t meet this qualification, there is still a chance that you could compete if selected by your country’s national sporting association or federation.

The importance of the Invictus Foundation

The Invictus Games Foundation is an organization created to provide opportunities for disabled and wounded military personnel. These people are frequently overlooked in their communities, and the purpose of the foundation is to raise awareness of their stories. It also provides sports programs, rehabilitation services, and adaptive equipment for people with physical disabilities.
Harry founded the foundation in 2014 after returning home from Afghanistan. The first games took place in London that year, and the next four games will be held every two years thereafter.
The foundation’s motto is “Invictus In Motion”, which means “Invincible In Motion” or “Unconquered In Motion”. The meaning of invictus itself is a reminder that these individuals have faced great challenges and conquered them; they’ve shown unfailing spirit despite everything they’ve faced.
The Invictus Games Foundation was created by Harry as a way to give back to those who sacrificed themselves for their country. They wanted a platform where injured service members could come together and compete against each other in different sports.

Key takeaways

The first Invictus Games took place in 2014 as part of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations and was hosted by Prince Harry. The games were created to unite veterans who have suffered injury or illness while serving their country.
In the 2018 edition, over 400 competitors competed in 10 different sports at a number of events across London. This included archery, cycling, football, golf, gymnastics, canoeing and kayaking, road cycling, swimming and triathlon.
Prince Harry hopes that one day the invictus Games will be an Olympic-style event with countries competing against each other.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *